Dear Son Dear Daughter

Your dad and I have spent many long nights thinking and dreaming of you. What began as just a little seed God placed in our hearts, has steadily grown into a deep desire to love and to find you, that we simply can’t deny.

I wish you didn’t have to endure the circumstances that will lead our family to you. I don’t want you to suffer. I don’t want you to go hungry. I don’t want you to go to bed lonely ever again.

They say adoption is bittersweet. I completely see that. Bitter because you have already endured so much in your short life. You have seen what I will never see. You have heard what I will never hear. You have cried, and no one has dried your tears. On the other hand, adoption is sweet. Adoption is God’s heart in action. Adoption is you being mine…forever. Adoption is this smile I can’t wipe off my face every time I think of you.

Right now, this very minute, we have no idea where you are. We don’t know what country you are in. We don’t know how old you are or if you have even been born yet. We don’t even know whether you are a boy or a girl. But already, before you even knew it, God was taking our  little family on the other side of the world and preparing our hearts for the journey ahead – the journey to bring you home.

Until I can kiss your sweet face,

Mommy

Leave a Reply

