God’s Story

The story is not over. That phrase has been in my mind throughout the last week. For so long, I have read the Bible and thought of it in terms of – that was then – this is now and that somehow those lines don’t ever cross. But this week, it just hit me like a ton of bricks. The story of God – of how he is rescuing His people. The story of how He is drawing them into Himself. The story of salvation, redemption, grace and mercy…that story is NOT over. He is not done. He is not finished. And, here is the most beautiful part. We are the story.

I look at Esther and I think, “Wow, I wish I could be like her.” I wish God would USE me. I want to be used in a story that isn’t finished. I want to be used to set the captive free, to change hearts, to change minds…to love. Here’s the beauty. I am Esther. I am the story. I am going to be used to change hearts and minds and to love. I am here to provide hope for the hopeless and food for the hungry.

Our role as Christians is not boring. It isn’t. It is wild. God can take us on a beautiful, crazy, unexpected adventure if our lives are a blank check that we allow him to use in any way he wishes.

I am ready for the adventure of my life. I am ready for the outpouring of His spirit on me and my family. I am ready for the unexpected in the little and big things.

The Bible is wonderful. It is God’s love story for His people. It is His plan of salvation. It is His book of life. But the story isn’t over. You and I are living and breathing the story today. There are unreached people, and we need to reach them. I feel God working on me like never before. I pray that my life will be a tool in His hands.

Isaiah 55 has been on my heart this week. This is from The Message:

Just as rain and snow descend from the skies and don’t go back until they’ve watered the earth, Doing their work of making things grow and blossom, producing seed for farmers and food for the hungry, So will the words that come out of my mouth not come back empty-handed. They’ll do the work I sent them to do, they’ll complete the assignment I gave them.

Leave a Reply

