To blog or not to blog…

There are many adoptive families who have decided not to blog about their adoption. They have many reasons for this…all of which I completely understand. I have spent a lot of time weighing the pros and cons of an adoption blog, and I have decided that for our family I think having a blog is completely appropriate. We are blessed to have many friends and family who will be praying for us throughout this process and I know they will enjoy having a way to keep up with the latest and will use it as a tool to support our family–as this will be a long journey.

I really wanted to start the blog to keep up with our timeline and to have something to show our son or daughter one day so that they will understand our hearts and why this decision was made to bring him/her into our family. I also think it is important for us to have some documentation of where we have been and where we are headed. I think it will help us (especially me – the mommy) get through the waiting period.

The final reason it is important to me to keep a blog throughout this process is so that our family can maybe be an encouragement to other families who are trying to decide if adoption is right for them. Sometimes just seeing someone else walking the path in faith that you are about to walk gives you so much hope. I know, for me personally, researching blogs has really been a wonderful resource. If I hadn’t been able to read what other families were doing – their triumphs and setbacks, I might not have ever gone down this path.

 

Leave a Reply

