Simply, my daughter

To My Littlest Valentine:

Happy Valentines Day! You are so precious to your dad and me. There isn’t a day that goes by that we don’t think of you and smile the biggest of smiles. We haven’t even gotten to meet you, and yet, you have already brought us more joy than you could ever imagine.

Last night, we were watching a travel preparation video, and it is feeling so close now. We are literally weeks away from meeting you for the first time and the anticipation is indescribable. For so long, I have wondered what it would be like to hold you. What it would be like to feed you. Whether you would come willingly into my arms or fight me kicking and screaming. I don’t know what the day will hold, but I do know who holds the day. I know that He prepared me since before the world began to be your mom, and I am more certain of my purpose than ever before.

We have loved you now for 2 years (Yes, I realize you are only one.). We’ve only had your picture 5 months, but we have loved you so much longer. God is so amazing. It is incredible how he knew you would need us and even more how we would need you. Families are designed by God, and there is more than one way to create a family. You aren’t my “adopted” daughter, Eliza. You are simply – my daughter.

Because of you, this Valentines Day has been filled with great joy and anticipation. You bring more joy, more love, more happiness and more sweetness to this world.

I’m not going to lie. These last few months have been so hard. There has been a lot of joy, but with that joy came several trying and disappointing times. I thought I could get to you by the end of January. Then the end of February and now to know that it could be March or even April is the hardest thing in the world. But, I do know one thing. The wait will be worth it. You are worth EVERYTHING and so much more.

Someday in your life, you will question everything. When you do, I will be right here ready to hold you and dry your tears and love you through it. God wouldn’t bring us this far, and then leave us when we need Him the most. Without Him sweet girl, life isn’t worth anything. I pray that you will SHINE for Him in all you do.

Today and everyday, may you always know how loved you truly are. I’ll be there soon.

Mommy

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Simply, my daughter

  1. So beautifully put. She will be mesmerized to have this to look back on. God bless you to put your heart out there. You’re going to be there before you know it. I pray that time passes quickly so that when that moment comes time itself will stand still and you can soak up every precious moment.

    I love you so much my dear friend. Thank you for checking in even when your life is so tough. Your heart is gold and God has already used use in so many blessings, I can’t wait to see what else he has in store for you.

Leave a Reply

